Week Eight

More Classes, Cuban Food & Giving it over to God

Another week is over.  It was a pretty good week.  I enjoyed getting some puzzles in the mail.  They kept me busy this weekend in between visits.  Work was tough on Tuesday.  Somehow we were volunteered to help bend rebar to hold down the plastic pipes in the ditch before they are filled with cement (last week we put together the plastic holders that the pipes sit on, none of us had to actually get into the ditch).  The rebar is bent with a manual bender.  After it took two of us to hold down the bender and try to bend the rebar, the guys (not prisoners, employees) took over and we just set up each piece and moved it around after it was bent.  The rebar was covered in a dust of rust, which by the end, I was covered in a layer of rust dust.  It was hot, sweaty work, but we got the job done.  I can’t wait to see what fun this week brings.  I keep asking to go back into my nice little tool cage, but the boss likes having the extra hands when we are working.

I survived my speech last week about “You can’t start a new chapter in your life, if you keep re-reading the last”.  I was told I did a good job, but she told everyone that.  At least I looked up and didn’t read off of the paper, a big step for me.  This week we were all given a phrase that we have to start our speech with, mine is “broken promises”.  I can do a whole lot with that one!  I started a new class this week, “Building Wealth”, which focuses on Dave Ramsey’s version of budgeting and also goes into investing, stocks, etc.  On Friday, I went to a seminar led by the author of the book, “The 5 Love Languages”, Dr. Gary Chapman.  I was impressed that he would take the time to come here and talk to us.  It was a great seminar and I got a lot out of it.

I think I may have mentioned that my Bunkie is originally from Cuba.  She and I have a great time talking.  She is a very positive person, and is good for me when I start having little moments.  Today we were talking about food, and I have never heard of half of the things she cooks.  She started talking about plantains and I told her I have never tried them.  She asked why and I told her they look like bananas and I absolutely hate bananas.  She told me they don’t taste like bananas, and I told her they still look like them, and I can’t do it.  Finally after going in circles, I agreed to try one of her garlic flavored plantain chips, and I loved it.  So now, not only am I going to order them tomorrow at commissary, but she is going to give me some recipes to try with them when I get home.  I still won’t be trying bananas!

The rough part of the week came on Friday.  I had followed up several times with my counselor to make sure my brother and sister in law were approved to visit this weekend.  Friday afternoon, I went looking for him one last time and he was gone for the day.  I went to the counselor that was here (the scariest woman) and she looked it up and told me it was not done.  I was devastated, and spent most of the evening emotional in my cube.  Once I calmed down, my Bunkie told me that perhaps there was a divine reason they were not approved for this weekend.  That maybe God had a reason for intervening and not allowing them to be approved.  Or Satan played a part in it, knowing I have been working very hard on my faith, to try to push me away.  Either way, it is ok to be disappointed, but I needed to turn my anger over to God, stop stressing about it and let him work it out.  So I did.  I had a long talk with God that night, and gave it all to him.  I am still disappointed, but I am not upset anymore.

I just want to clarify from my sleeping with snakes story the other day, I was referring to my past relationships.  My current relationship does not fall in that category, probably because we have taken it at a snail’s pace (minus throwing a baby into the mix) and have been taking the time to really get to know each other.  Which makes a major difference!

I am hoping for a calm, fast week!  Have a great one!

Julie

Leave a Reply

