Storm Prepping

Storm Prepping…..

It is weird to be from Florida, know there is a storm out there and not be able to do anything to prep for it.  No last minute runs to the grocery store for water, no making sure everything is out of the yard, no worrying about sandbags.  All I can do is sit back and let someone else worry about everything for me.  Right now, it looks like we are just going to get tropical storm winds and a lot of rain.  Most people here are not concerned about our safety during this, we are in a concrete building, thick windows, and no trees by the building.  What they are concerned about is their families.  A good percentage of the ladies here are from the Florida, Georgia, S. Carolina area and are worried about their families and homes.  There has been a constant line at the phones with people trying to call home and check to make sure their family is prepared.  Fortunately my family is on the other coast and should only see a little wind and some rain.  My biggest concern right now, is that the day care will close and my mom will have a bored 3 year old all day.

I had my Threshold class yesterday and picked up some very good information.  Some of these I need to just keep saying to myself over and over, and I really hope my girls read them and get something out of them.

One of the most expensive things you could ever do is pay attention to the wrong people

The truth is, unless you let go,
unless you forgive yourself,
unless you forgive the situation,
unless you realize that the situation
is over, you cannot move forward

Remember, you can’t reach for what’s in front of you until you let go of what’s behind you.

I might not be someone’s first choice, but I am a great choice.
I don’t pretend to be someone I’m not, because I am good at being me.
I might not be proud of some of the things I’ve done in the past, but I’m proud of who I am today.
I may not be perfect, but I don’t need to be.  I am the way God made me.
Take me as I am or watch me as I walk away.
I’m only responsible for what I say, not what you understand…
Thank you to every person who has ever told me I can’t.  You are just another reason I will.

Have a great rest of the week!  If you are in the path of the storm, please be careful!

Julie

Leave a Reply

