Week Seventeen

A week closer to the end!

Another week is over.  We are still feeling the aftermath of the visitation issue from last week that I wrote about.  Visitations for this weekend were completely cancelled.  So, because of one person’s selfish act, everyone who had a visit planned for this weekend, lost it.  I really feel bad for the girl in the bunk across the hall from me.  It is her birthday weekend, and her mom had scheduled a flight to come visit, and had to cancel the flight.  We had a big birthday party for her on Friday night to try to make her feel a little better.  It is amazing the food that people can make with the limited ingredients we have.  We had pizza (two types), chicken and dumplings, Spanish rice, bean dip, veggie dip, flan, 2 different chocolate cakes and a chocolate cheesecake.  The pizza was not like Papa Johns, and the chicken and dumplings were nothing like Cracker Barrel, but they were still really good.  I made my first chocolate lava cake, with Bunkie supervising, and helped the birthday girl’s Bunkie make the chocolate cheesecake and the veggie dip.  It was a lot of fun.  I can’t wait to recreate these recipes at home during one of our family dinners.

One of my friends makes homemade cards.  I told her I needed some note cards, so she made me a few.  They are adorable. They have a little turtle, upside down, but smiling.  The caption is… I’m Okay, really I am… It describes me right now, not back on my feet yet, but I am working on it, and trying to keep smiling.  I am still working on plans for the future, I have a plan A, but was told I should have at least a plan B & C (and even a D).  So I am working on plan B right now.  I really just want to get back home and start taking care of my children and start my life over.  I am praying a lot right now, and hoping that everything works out in the end.

I have been doing a lot of thinking this week about my two ex-husbands, and how I have let them continue to hold a grip over my life.  It is time to let it all go, and move on.  I can’t go back and change the past, or the way I was treated, and I can’t keep letting it control my life.  I have decided to pray daily for the new women in their lives.  These men will not change, but sadly, it takes a little bit of time before the real issues start to come out, so the new women in their lives need prayers.  I wrote about this before, but it deserves to be mentioned again.  Before I came in, there was a big thing about a hashtag on Twitter #HeDoesn’tHitMeBut… If you have the time, go to Twitter and type it into the search box.  When I did, the first 10 things that women had written, could have been written by me.   If you ever say that line to yourself, He Doesn’t Hit Me But…. take a good look at your relationship.  Verbal & emotional abuse is not okay.  I know the old line about sticks and stones, but words really can hurt you, especially when they come from someone who supposedly loves you.  So I am letting go of the anger, and praying for the new women involved, and I feel lighter already.

The song this week, that I have been hearing over and over, is called Priceless by For King & Country.  I really like this song, and the meaning behind it.

Goal Update:  I have walked 163 laps total which equals 50 miles.  I only have 12 days left to walk 162 more laps, which will average out to 13-14 laps a day.  I am going to keep trying, but I am not feeling as confident about it.  I did start my Intro to Fitness & Intro to Step classes this week, on top of the walking.  Right now my calves are killing me from the step, but I am still moving along.

15 more chicken days!
7 more visit weekends!
4 more blanket exchanges!

Have a great week!  Keep praying my date changes (Bunkie’s date changed, and now she is leaving 4 weeks before me. I am very happy for her!)

Julie

Leave a Reply

