Week Twenty One

Armadillos, Writing & Same Old Fun

Another week is over, and I have been amazed every night at this little armadillo that plays by the track.  I have named him Armando (could be an Amanda, but I like Armando), and love watching him walk around without a care in the world, digging for whatever armadillos dig for, and loving life.  He seems to know where the sign is for us not to cross, because he usually stays on his side of the sign.  The noise of the ladies running and talking on the track does not disturb him at all.  Up until now, the only armadillos I have ever seen in the wild were squished on the side of the road, so seeing him walking around just really makes me happy. I have been seeing the foxes too (named Copper 1 and Copper 2), in the evenings.  I wish they would come out during the day so I could see their coloring, but that has not happened.  They do encourage me to walk longer, because I want to keep watching them.  I ended up walking 5 miles the other day, just so I could keep seeing Armando playing in the field.

I have been working on my book, and some other projects around here.  I actually sent Bethy the first chapter to save for me.  I will be sending her more as I have time to sit and type them into an email.  I can’t wait to get home and be able to type on my computer, and edit as I go.

I survived the dentist this week and no longer have a hole in my tooth.  She was very nice, and I was very proud of myself staying calm the entire time.  I also went out to the hematologist this week.  At first I did not like going because we go in uniform with a guard, so sitting in the waiting room, everyone sits and stares at the “convict” with the guard.  I can see how uncomfortable they are with us there, but both times I was taken back very quickly, so that was a plus.  I guess they wanted me out of their waiting room.  They are setting up a day for an iron infusion, which lasts a few hours.  We will see how many people I can freak out in the infusion room with my guard.  We had a long talk in my Threshold class about holding our heads up high, so that is what I did in the waiting room, and even smiled at the people waiting.  There is not much longer, I just need to get through all of this so I can get home and keep working on holding my head up. In the dining hall, they painted “encouraging” words on the walls this week.  One quote was “No one can make you feel inferior unless you allow them to”.  I am working hard on remembering I am worth something, and I want to make sure my kids know they are too.

We heard a story in class this week.  A group of frogs were hopping down a path towards the pond.  There was a hole in the path and two of the frogs fell in it.  They tried and tried, but they could not hop out.  The other frogs told them to give up, they will not make it, and the first frog laid down and died.  The second frog kept trying, and the frogs on the outside kept waving to him, yelling for him to give up.  Finally, exhausted, the frog jumped with all of his might and made it out of the hole.  When he got out, he read the other frogs lips as they said “why didn’t you give up?” He told them that he is deaf, and he thought that with all the waving and yelling he could see them doing, they were encouraging him, so he felt like he could do it.  Life is what we make of it, we can let others bring us down, or find ways to be encouraged.

The song this week is one of my favorites “How Many Kings” by Downhere  I love this song and was so glad to hear it several times this week.  It is on my iPhone and one I listen to when I need a little pick me up.

I am not looking forward to the holidays coming up, especially Thanksgiving this Thursday.  I love this day with my family, and will have to find a way to make it special with my temporary family here.  I can’t wait to see them all on the video chat that afternoon.  Christmas is around the corner, and if anyone wants to send a Christmas card, I would love to get them.  Just let Bethy know and she can send you the mailing information.  We are able to put them up on the weekends, so I will be decorating my cube each weekend with my cards.

Have a great week!

11 more chicken days!
5 more visit weekends!
3 more blanket exchanges!

Julie

 

Leave a Reply

