Week Twenty Three

Bah Humbug!

Another week is finished.  The ladies here decorated our front lobby area.  It is amazing to see their creativity, especially with limited supplies.  The most impressive is the “fireplace” they created out of cardboard boxes and our counter area.  My Bunkie and I said we are going to take cups of hot chocolate and sit in front of it.  It is too hot right now for the hot chocolate, hopefully it cools back down in a few days. Unfortunately, all of this is only working to make me more depressed about the holidays.  I am still working on the kids gifts, which is keeping me busy, but I am bummed anyway.  I don’t get to take my little guy to see Santa this year, wake up with him and the girls on Christmas morning and watch their excitement as they open their presents.  I don’t get to see my entire family for our Christmas Eve get together.  I have not missed a single Christmas Eve with the family since we moved back to Florida 41 years ago.  Some of the ladies that have been here for several years are “watching out” for those of us missing our first Christmas.  Sadly, there are many that this is just the first of several Christmases they will be missing.  We only get a few basic cable channels, so there will be no Family channel 25 days of Christmas.  I did go over to Rec on my movie day and was able to watch “Christmas with the Kranks”, always one of my favorites, but it still wasn’t the same.

I sent mom & dad a Christmas card that I cross-stitched.  One of the ladies here (78 years old!), makes cross-stitched cards all the time, and my Bunkie took lessons from her to learn.  When I told her I already knew how to do it, she handed me a book, and said to pick a card.  Then gave me the supplies to make it, and supervised me turning it into a card.  She was very sweet, and wouldn’t let me give her anything in return for the supplies she gave me to make the card.  It was nice to be able to make them something.  I wish there was something I could make that would make up for all of the problems I have caused them.  Something that would truly thank them for everything they have done for me and my kids.

I am almost done with my Threshold class.  We accomplished 6 months worth of work in 3 months, going to class for 3-4 hours a week instead of 1-2.  They actually have a graduation ceremony for this program (in 2 weeks), with caps & gowns.   It is apparently a big deal to complete the course.

No song again this week.  I just can’t handle the 24 hours of Christmas music, so I have been just flipping channels while I walk.

Have a great week!

9 more chicken days!
4 more visit weekends!
3 more blanket exchanges!

Julie

Leave a Reply

