Week Twenty Eight

Just Finish It!

I finally finished the last Christmas present for the kids…this one is for Bethy, so I am not going to say what it is, once I mail it out this weekend, hopefully she will post pictures of the presents.  I used a pattern from a magazine my mom had sent me.  I did the main part of the pattern, but left off the finishing touches, because they looked difficult.  One of the ladies here, who happens to have the same magazine and had been waiting for me to finish my project so she could see how it came out, asked where the last part was.  I told her that it looked fine like it was, and the last part looked too hard.  After a long (one sided) conversation on how life is hard, and if I just give up every time something is hard, I will not get anywhere. She told me to attempt it, and if I couldn’t get it, she would walk through it with me.  There were a lot of steps, but it was one of those things that when I broke it down, step by step, instead of looking at the whole thing, it was actually easy to do.  The project does look better, it looks completed.  As I come back home, I need to remember this, not get overwhelmed by the whole thing, but break down everything step by step.  In one of my classes, we learned that F-E-A-R has two meanings – Forget Everything And Run or Face Everything And Rise.  I have lived my life in the past by the first meaning, but my future will be based on the second.

I have been working harder on smiling at everyone possible, saying compliments when I can (I even sent the person in charge of food service the other day an email complimenting lunch), and just trying to be a positive person.  I thought about complimenting the guard, Ponytail, on not smelling like stale smoke during late count last night, but decided that might be one to let go.  He has been gone a few days, maybe he gave up his habit while he was off.  Junior has really settled down, and just we were starting to like him, he seems to be gone.  We think he has rotated to his next position down the road, and we are waiting to see who his replacement is.  Cowboy has been back a couple of days, and so has Joe Cool.  They are both just very pleasant, always have a smile and hello.  Stewie usually works on Ponytail’s off days, and he is another one that is relaxed, nice and if you respect him, he respects you.  Ponytail has relaxed too, and it has been very pleasant around here lately.  Again, show them respect, they show you respect and there is no need for unpleasantness. Our camp officer during the day is one that does not have a nickname.  He seems to irritate a lot of people here, because of his interesting sense of humor.  I actually like it, I guess it comes from being raised with my brother, I am immune to a lot of the irritations that others have.

When Bunkie left this week, she left me something that was always hanging on her bulletin board.  She read it daily, tried to live by it, and asked me to read it daily now that she is gone and try to incorporate it into my life.  Some things I have been doing already. I hope both of my girls read this promise, and get something out of it.

I promise myself:

To be so strong that nothing can disturb my peace of mind.
To talk health, happiness, and prosperity to every person I meet.
To make all of my friends feel like there is something worthwhile in them.
To look at the sunny side of everything and make my optimism come true.
To think only of the best, to work only for the best, and to expect only the best.
To be just as enthusiastic about the success of others as I am about my own.
To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future.
To wear a cheerful expression at all times and give a smile to every living creature I meet.
To give so much time to improving myself that I have no time to criticize others.
To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, too strong for fear, and too happy to permit the presence of trouble.
To think well of myself and to proclaim this fact to the world, not in loud words, but in great deeds.
To live in the faith that the whole world is on my side, so long as I am try to the best that is in me.
Christian D. Larson

I received some really great news this week, but for now I am not sharing it on here.  It is a sign though that everything will be getting back to normal when I get home.

Have a great week!
Julie

4 more chicken days!
1 more visit weekend!
1 more blanket exchange!

Leave a Reply

